Dominic Place
#103 - 433 4th Street N.E.
Weyburn, SK S4H 0Y8
Ph: 306-842-7025
Fax: 306-842-7033

Catholic Education Matters Fund Raising Campaign

Catholic Education Matters Fund Raising Campaign

For more information contact: Holy Family RCSSD

Phone: 306-842-7025  Email:

Current Bus Cancellations - Click Here
For further bus information, please visit our main bussing page.

The SCSBA Board of Directors honored two Trustees from Holy Family at the joint convention of the Catholic Health Association of Saskatchewan and the Saskatchewan Catholic School Board Association held in Regina October 20-22, 2017. Kate MacLean was recognized for her 9 years of serving as a Catholic School Board Trustee.

Bruno Tuchscherer was honored with the The Appreciation Award which is awarded to an individual in appreciation of commitment and contribution to Catholic Education in the Province of Saskatchewan.

Bruno Tuchscherer has been deeply committed to Catholic education in Saskatchewan, particularly in the southeast area of province, serving an area of 6104KM². He became a Catholic Trustee in 1988 and has served 29 years to date. He has served as Board Chair for Holy Family consecutively since 2004. His calm, committed Catholic Leadership has been a substantial gift to us all

Bruno has spent many long hours creating the foundation of Holy Family by supporting complex activities such as school division amalgamations, first in 2004 with the amalgamation of Weyburn Catholic, Estevan Catholic and St. Olivier in Radville to become Holy Family RCSSD #140. In 2009 St. Augustine in Wilcox was amalgamated into Holy Family.   In 2006 the school division extended its rural boundaries to include Queen Elizabeth RCSSD #218 and Spruce Ridge RCSSD #219. These provincial processes required sensitive, strategic leadership at local and provincial levels.

Bruno has been involved in the creation of strategic partnerships with South East Cornerstone Public School Division. The partnership agreement for the operation of the Estevan , Weyburn  and Radville High Schools includes religion classes to the grade 9 in Estevan and Christian Ethics to grade 10, 11 and 12 in all 3 communities. Another partnership is the delivery of education in Radville where St. Olivier is the only Kindergarten to Grade 6 school option for all residents and Radville Regional High School is the only Grade 7-12 option. The boards, under the leadership of their chairperson, regularly revisit the service agreement which facilitates the partnership to ensure that the best practices and procedures for educating all students continue to evolve and improve. These types of arrangements require a clear understanding of Catholic distinctiveness during very complex times.

Under Bruno’s leadership, Holy Family has hosted SCSBA Conferences and successfully supported the initiatives of the SCSBA e.g. sexual diversity, new curriculum and new religion programming.

Bruno recognizes the significance of contributing to his community and church. Bruno is a member of the 4th degree Knights of Columbus , as well as the Weyburn Council #1731 for which he has served as Grand Knight, as well as serving on the organizational committee for the Knights of Columbus bingo. Bruno serves as the parish of St. Vincent de Paul as parish council chairman, chairman of McKenna Auditorium and manager of the fair booth.  Bruno has held the position of Weyburn Antique Car Club President and coached Girl’s Minor Ball

Bruno is a retired heavy duty diesel mechanic and farmer. Bruno and his wife Margaret celebrated 46 years of marriage this year. They have 3 grown children and 2 grandchildren.  His calm, solid, no nonsense  Catholic leadership is reflected in his home, community involvement  and his service to Holy Family at both the local and provincial level. His Catholic leadership has benefited us at all levels of Catholic education in Saskatchewan.

Congratulations Kate and Bruno, your service is a blessing.

Kate SCSBA 9 Year     Bruno SCSBA              






Holy Family is pleased to congratulate two of it's teachers on their graduation from the University of Regina on October 20th, 2017. Sabrina Gulka and Christa Walton both recieved their Master of Education in Educational Administration. Sabrina Gulka is the Vice Principal at St. Michael School and Christa Walton teaches Grade 8 at Sacred Heart School.

Government Will Use Notwithstanding Clause to Protect School Choice for Parents and Students

Released on May 1, 2017

Move Will Set Aside Recent Court of Queen’s Bench Ruling

Premier Brad Wall today announced the government will protect school choice in Saskatchewan by invoking the notwithstanding clause of The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

The move comes in response to a recent Court of Queen’s Bench ruling that, if allowed to stand, would force about 10,000 non-Catholic students out of Catholic schools.  The ruling could also risk provincial funding of 26 other faith-based schools including Luther College, Regina Christian School, Saskatoon Christian School and Huda School.

“We support school choice including public, separate and faith-based schools,” Wall said.  “We will defend school choice for students and parents.  By invoking the notwithstanding clause we are protecting the rights of parents and students to choose the schools that work best for their families, regardless of their religious faith.”

Section 33 of The Charter of Rights and Freedoms gives provincial legislatures the authority to override certain portions of the Charter for a five year term.  Invoking the notwithstanding clause requires an Act of the Legislative Assembly.

“I have asked the Ministers of Education and Justice to begin preparing legislation to invoke the notwithstanding clause to protect choice in our school system,” Wall said.  “We wanted to announce this now to provide clarity and provide parents with the assurance that they will be able to continue to choose the kind of school they want their children to attend.”

The government’s action is in response to an April 20 Court of Queen’s Bench ruling on a legal challenge by the Good Spirit School Division of Christ the Teacher Catholic Schools’ right to receive provincial funding for non-Catholic students.  The Court ruled that the government must stop funding non-minority faith students to attend separate schools.

For more information, contact:

Kathy Young
Executive Council
Phone: 306-787-0425
Cell: 306-526-8927


Go to top